Cancel OK

The Softwood Lumber Board 2023 Board of Directors Announced

General News
Softwood Lumber Board logo

The United States Secretary of Agriculture Thomas J. Vilsack has appointed Ricky Stanley to serve his first term on the Softwood Lumber Board (SLB) Board of Directors. He has also reappointed Jim Neiman, Tim Biewer, and Ray Ferris to serve their second terms on the Board. Representation on the Board is proportional to regional production, and domestic manufacturers and importers of a variety of softwood lumber products from a broad range of size and type of company are represented. Directors will serve a three-year term of office beginning immediately to December 31, 2025. On January 1, 2023, current Director Brian Luoma began his two-year term as Board Chair, taking over from outgoing Board Chair Caroline Dauzat.

Mr. Stanley is the President and CEO of Brewton, Alabama–based T.R. Miller Mill Company; he starts his first term on the Board representing the U.S. South. He comes to the SLB as a veteran leader in several other industry associations—including serving as the First Vice Chairman of the American Wood Council Board of Directors. He is also a member of the Southeastern Lumber Manufacturers Association and has already been active in the SLB, recently serving as a non-board member on its Industry Relations and Governance Committee.

Mr. Nieman is the President and CEO of Hulett, Wyoming–based Nieman Enterprises and affiliated companies. He currently serves as Treasurer of the Executive Committee for the SLB’s Board of Directors and as Chair of the Finance Committee. This marks the start of his second term on the Board, representing the U.S. West.

Mr. Biewer is the Owner and President of St. Clair, Michigan–based Biewer Lumber. He currently serves on the SLB’s Industry Relations and Governance Committee. This will be his second term on the Board, representing the U.S. Northeast and Lake States.

Mr. Ferris is the President and CEO of Vancouver, British Columbia–based West Fraser. He currently serves as the First Vice Chair of the SLB’s Executive Committee and Ex-Officio of the Finance and Industry Relations and Governance Committees. This will be his second term on the Board, representing Canada West.

Mr. Luoma is President and CEO of The Westervelt Company. Prior to joining Westervelt in 2017, he worked with Louisiana Pacific for 29 years. Over his career, he has been active in several industry organizations, including the American Wood Council and the National Alliance of Forest Owners. He currently represents the U.S. South region on the SLB Board of Directors and has most recently served as the Second Vice Chair of the SLB’s Executive Committee and Chair of the SLB’s Programs Committee.

The 2023 Board will have 14 members, including 10 domestic manufacturers and four importers. Members can serve up to two consecutive three-year terms.

“The Softwood Lumber Board thanks Secretary Vilsack for appointing a strong slate of directors who reflect the diversity of the industry and will bring the unique perspectives from their regions,” said Cees de Jager, SLB President and CEO. “The SLB would also like to thank our outgoing Director T. Furman Brodie for his leadership, service, and commitment to the industry. We also thank outgoing Board Chair Caroline Dauzat for her groundbreaking and steady leadership—especially during the unprecedented upheaval of the coronavirus pandemic. We look forward to her continued influence during the final year of her second term as a Director.” To read the USDA Notice to Trade, click here.

Source: Softwood Lumber Board