Cancel OK

USDA Announces Appointments to the Softwood Lumber Board

General News

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (“USDA”) announced the appointment of four members to serve on the Softwood Lumber Board.

Members newly appointed to serve three-year terms are:

– T. Furman Brodie, Effingham, S.C. (U.S. South)

– Jim D. Neiman, Hulett, Wyo. (U.S. West)

– Timothy Biewer, St. Clair, Mich. (Northeast & Lake)

– Ray Ferris, Vancouver, British Columbia (Canadian West)

The 2020 board will have 16 members, including 11 domestic manufacturers and five importers. Members can serve up to two consecutive three-year terms.

More information about the board is available on the Agricultural Marketing Service (“AMS”) Softwood Lumber Board webpage and on the board’s website,

Since 1966, Congress has authorized industry-funded research and promotion boards to provide a framework for agricultural industries to pool resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets and conduct important research and promotion activities. The Agricultural Marketing Service (“AMS”) provides oversight to 21 boards. The oversight ensures fiscal accountability and program integrity, and is paid for by industry assessments.

Source: United States Department of Agriculture